Lunging after Lunch

People often ask me how often I go ‘home’ to England. Which tickles me somewhat, as it might be more productive to ask how often I leave my room …. We monks like to hide away and be alone. In fact, the opportunity to be alone is the main reason I remain a monk. However, the lure of a good lunch is always guarenteed to tempt monks out in the morning. On Sunday I went to a function at a meditation society, and the food was magnificent; a big difference from our usual meaty fare. Lots of vegetarian stuff, and cheesy pizza etc … I caught myself plotting “how can I engineer it so I come here more often ?… ”

This issue came up recently in the talk on Dukkha, during which I had intended to recite a short poem by William Blake which shows you can enjoy a fleeting pleasure without grasping after it:

He who binds himself to a joy,

Does the Winged life destroy.

But he who kisses the joy as it flies,

Lives in eternity’s sunrise.

About Cittasamvaro

Auto blogography of an urban monk
This entry was posted in All Posts, Sense Desire. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lunging after Lunch

  1. wyaryan says:

    Let me know when I can treat you to a vegetarian lunch.

    Will

Comments are closed.