Do good, get good

Virtue is its own reward says Christianity. Though Karma is supposed to ensure your rewards will come for your good behaviour it only works mentally. That is to say, if you do a good deed it will add to your self worth, self esteem and integirty, and that I’m afraid, is your reward. Thus if you are looking outwards expecting the world around you to rememver your deeds, you will not find your experience agreeing with the Thai saying ‘do good get good, do bad get bad’. Here’s another Ananova Quirkies article:

Rescuer fined for saving OAP

A Belgian man who stopped an old woman being crushed in train doors as she got onto a train was handed a £40 pound fine for causing a delay.

Daniel Dewulf from Ostend was given the fine by a conductor after he pulled open the train doors after they closed on the elderly lady as she tried to get on.

He said: “I heard the conductor’s whistle just as I got on the train and then realised someone else was trying to get on. The doors had closed on the elderly woman, trapping her.

“In order to prevent a tragedy I pushed the door open and helped her get in. She thanked me profusely. But the conductor gave me a fine because he said my actions increased the chance of a delay.

“He wasn’t interested when I tried to explain to him that I had only opened the doors to try and save an old woman’s life.”

Belgian Railways has now apologised to Dewulf and a spokesman said: “We should have fined the woman in question for boarding the train after the whistle.”

About Cittasamvaro

Auto blogography of an urban monk
This entry was posted in All Posts, Karma & Rebirth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.