The Noble Search

Posted by Pandit Bhikkhu:

I have mentioned regularly to many people that I am always looking for venues for events. So far all the places we use I have researched, contacted and nurtured myself. But I keep asking for everyone to help.

Several things we need to look for:

1. a venue for weekend retreats. Somewhere less than 2 hours from Bangkok. Clean and quiet. And something we can arrange for under 2000 baht per person for accommodation and food. We need a meeting room that can handle 30+ people, and also a place that can handle 60+ people for bigger retreats.

So far I’ve made 4 roadtrips to Comsaed, Rajaburi, the Hideaway we used this month, and lately to Suphanburi and Saraburi. This has cost quite a bit in renting cars… so I really need other people to take a look at possible resorts, and get details too, in order to find a good place. I am always asking, but no one seems to have anywhere to suggest!

2. A nice restaurant for afternoon movie events. Food needs to be a reasonable cost, and also room hire. If needed we can have a collection and buy our own projector. MANY restaurants have extra rooms that are empty on Saturday afternoons (this is not a big eating out time of the week) who’d be very willing to let us have the room. Personally I don’t go to restaurants of course, so again I am dependent on you all to look into this. When you go out, take a look at the restaurant, and ask if they have a room. (Might mention thanks to Richard, who told me to check out the Tai Pan)

3. Lastly we are always on the hunt for meeting rooms for talks etc..  I have a good bunch of locations now that we can use, but each has + and – points. Many of them we have used, and some we have not yet.

During this monastic Rains period (August/Sept/Oct) it would be nice to do a big weekend retreat, so the urgent search is for a nice resort we can use.

About Cittasamvaro

Auto blogography of an urban monk
This entry was posted in All Posts, Upcoming events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Noble Search

  1. Nui says:

    Hmmmm.. We’ll ask/ look around. Sorry I didn’t try enough before.

Comments are closed.